top of page

Nursing Home Transition & Diversion and Traumatic Brain Injury Services

What is the NHTD and TBI waiver?

The Nursing Home Transition and Diversion (NHTD) and Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) waivers are Medicaid-based programs created to offer New Yorkers with disabilities and the 65+ population a way to remain in the community instead of in a nursing home setting. Both programs follow a person-centered planning philosophy and offer a wide range of services that help people maintain their independence including: service coordination, homecare staffing for those with physical and cognitive needs, environmental modifications, assistive technology, independent living skills training, and social day programs. Services are flexible and tailored to the needs of each individual.

Who qualifies for services under the NHTD and TBI Waiver?

To be considered for waiver eligibility the following criteria must be met:

  • Must be on Medicaid

  • Must be between 18-64 for TBI with a diagnosed Traumatic Brain Injury

  • Must be 18 years of age or older for NHTD, if under 65 must have proof of a physical disabilit

  • Must be at risk for nursing home placement or presently residing in a nursing home setting.

  • Must choose to live in the community and can be served safely under the waivers services and supports.

  • Must have a local informal support in the community.

Services Offered by RCAL:

Service Coordination, Assistive Technology, and Moving Assistance
Moving Assistive is only available to those currently enrolled in the waiver and is used as a last resort service

To apply for the NHTD Program, contact Putnam Independent Living Center at (845) 228-7457 and request an intake appointment. If you would like to know more about RCAL‘s NHTD and TBI services, please call RCAL at (845) 331-0541 and ask for Katie Clayton.


bottom of page